How to make a template message for Git commits

At work finally I am using git properly(Or I think), I mean, now I understand how to use branches anytime that a new feature shows up or a bug has to be solved, and how I mentioned at Twitter I know that we are in 2017 and I should been using git since a lot time ago but since I’ve take new jobs I really have the opportunity to use git at my new jobs.

Every time I notice more and more benefits about use git, for example, I just notice that you can create a message template for any time that you make a commit. Thus this feature allows you to keep a standard for your team of codeers when they need to write a commit message, like have s title, description and issue address by.

This post shows how to configure your repo to create a commit message template so you can have a standard for your commit messages.

In the root folder of your project create a .gitmessage file and add the next content:

Some awesome title

Why:

* ...

This change addresses the need by:

* ...

Now using the console in the root of your project folder type:

git config commit.template .gitmessage

Yaaaay! Now you are ready to make c00l messages anytime you have to make a commit.

Tip: You can set a template message globally just typing –globally before commit.template

git config --global commit.template .gitmessage

To unset the global template commit type:

git config --global --unset-all commit.template

References:

Leave a Reply

